FAQ

Screening procedure

Why is pre-employment screening useful?

Highlighting the professional reliability of candidates is important, both because of the reputation and commercial success of your organization as well as a part of caring for customers and employees. Pre-employment screening is congruent with this viewpoint and is transparently attached to the selection process of your company.

A pre-employment screening cannot prevent irregularities, fraud or other criminal behavior. Should such a tool exist, law enforcement would be rendered obsolete. What  a screening can do is to mitigate risk by becoming more careful about who is provided access to your company. When you can provide a safe work environment with competent personnel, everyone wins.

A pre-employment is screening is just one tool that can be used among a plethora of preventive integrity controls. For integrity-sensitive positions radical ‘in-employment’ screenings should be organized. An organization should also provide clear communication channels and whistleblowing policies. Exemplary behavior and moral integrity should be engrained in the corporate culture.

 

When is pre-employment screening used in the application process?

A pre-employment screening is the very last step in the application process. When you have selected the ideal candidate(s) based on the required skill and competences, we will conduct the final screening.

We can start this screening as soon as we receive the company’s permission.

How long such a screening lasts is dependent on:

  • the chosen depth of the screening
  • willingness of the applicant to cooperate

A simple screening can be done in a few days after the applicant has uploaded the required forms to our dedicated and secured website. More in-depth screenings require more time.

 

Who performs the screening?

The screenings are performed by the i-Force Integrity Check Team. I-Force is an independent forensic audit firm, founded in 2003. For more information on i-Force, please visit the i-Force website: www.i-Force.be

What do we check exactly?

We perform checks with the specific goal to answer these two questions :

  • Is the applicant who he says he/she is, with all qualifications mentioned on his/her application?
  • To what extent can the applicant be labeled as trustworthy and capable for the job

We mainly check these areas:

  • Personal information
  • Resume
  • Highest level of education
  • Professional qualifications and work history

These checks are only performed after explicit permission by the applicant that is the subject of the checks. He/she has the right to cancel the checks at any moment.

For more information about the checks we refer you to our white paper “Employment Integrity Screening” that can be downloaded on our website.

What is reported on?

We provide a report template presented as a “risk matrix”. In our report only that information that is relevant to our findings during the screening is included.  The report is solely factual and based on clear and objective search criteria.

Reports can be delivered in Dutch, French or English.

What if an applicant has a question?

If an applicant has questions about the pre-employment screening process he can reach our integrity check team by telephone on the number +32 (0)53 777 44 or via info@integritycheck.be

Guarantees and privacy

Is pre-employment screening legal?

Integrity check will start the screening with information that is provided by the applicant.  Along this information we use OSINT tools (Open Source INTelligence tools) to collect publicly available information about the candidate. For certain other information sources explicit permission by the applicant is needed and no other people are contacted outside those provided by the candidate. The entire process is therefore transparent and respectful of the candidate’s privacy.

Is the candidate aware of the pre-employment screening?

Yes. A screening can only start after a candidate’s permission statement. In this statement the checks that will be performed are listed and outlined. When applicable, permission will be asked in order to contact previous employers, schools and other contacts referenced by the applicant.

When do I need to inform a candidate of a pre-employment screening ?

When a screening only happens based on OSINT (open source intelligence) , notifying the applicant is not necessary. Since in a few of our modules reference checks are provided, the applicant should be informed by this. What’s more : the applicant is responsible for provide the necessary contact information of his references. A screening will never commence without clear and informed permission by the candidate. We provide a permission statement form in order to achieve this but will also ask you , the employer, to officially announce the screening to the candidate. It’s a sound strategy to mention this in the description on the job posting that a pre-employment screening will be a part of the application process. This in itself will prevent falsifications on a job application.

What will happen with the information collected on a candidate?

We can assure you that a candidate’s privacy is the highest priority atIntegrity Check. We conduct every investigation in accordance to the Law on Privacy Protection and Data Protection Act from December 8th 1992, the EU Directive 95/46/EC and/or applicable international law concerning Data Protection.

Are you bound to secrecy?

Integrity check is bound to strict secrecy concerning all confidential information that is part of a screening. All the provided information (such as name,address, date of birth, employment history, …) is only used for this specific screening.  The information is kept for 6 months , in concordance to the Law on Privacy Protection and Data Protection Act. After 6 months, the information will be destroyed.

Does an applicant have the right to review and revise his personal information?

All information is provided by the applicant on the online platform after receiving a personalized link. As long as the information is not officially submitted and electronically signed the candidate can add or remove information provided by him/her by accessing the portal via his/her personal link.

After the check the applicant has the right to demand access to information collected and can request the removal or modification of this information.

FAQ

Méthode – procédure

Quel est le but d’un screening?

Être attentif à la fiabilité professionnelle de vos collaborateurs (potentiels) est important, pour la réputation et le succès commercial de votre entreprise, mais aussi pour le respect de vos collaborateurs et de vos clients. Un screening avant emploi répond à ce souhait et s’intègre de manière transparente dans la procédure de sélection et de recrutement.

Un screening avant emploi ne peut pas empêcher qu’un collaborateur commette un jour un écart de conduite, une fraude ou tout autre acte délictueux. Si un tel outil existait, il deviendrait inutile de faire respecter la loi. Cependant, le risque peut être réduit grâce à un contrôle plus consciencieux des personnes que vous laissez entrer dans votre entreprise. Tout le monde y gagne à pouvoir travailler dans un environnement sûr, entouré de collègues qualifiés.

Un screening avant emploi n’est donc qu’un instrument du large éventail de mesures préventives de contrôle de l’intégrité. Ainsi, il est également recommandé, en particulier pour certaines fonctions sensibles en termes d’intégrité, d’exécuter périodiquement des screenings pendant l’emploi, de prévoir des moyens de signalement clairs et des personnes de confiance, de miser sur les comportements exemplaires, de mettre en place une culture de l’interpellation, etc. afin de réaliser une culture d’entreprise sûre et saine, dans laquelle demander des comptes est une évidence.

Quand le screening a-t-il lieu dans le processus de recrutement?

Un screening avant emploi est l’étape ultime de la procédure de recrutement. Une fois que vous avez sélectionné le ou les candidats possédant les compétences appropriées, notre travail commence.

En principe, nous pouvons entamer le screening dès que vous nous y autorisez.

La durée du processus dépend de ce qui suit:

  • le degré d’approfondissement choisi
  • la collaboration du candidat

Un screening simple peut être terminé en quelques jours, après que le candidat a mis à disposition les informations demandées via notre plate-forme en ligne. Les screenings plus détaillés peuvent nécessiter plus de temps.

Qui réalise ce screening?

Le screening est réalisé par l’équipe d’Integrity Check. Cette équipe est active chez i-Force, un bureau d’audit indépendant, créé en 2003. Pour en savoir plus sur Integrity Check, nous vous invitons à consulter le site www.i-Force.be.

Quelles sont les vérifications effectuées?

Les vérifications visent à donner une réponse aux deux questions suivantes:

  • Est-ce que la personne est vraiment celle qu’elle prétend être et possède toutes les qualifications qu’elle déclare posséder?
  • Dans quelle mesure le candidat peut-il être considéré comme digne de confiance pour cette fonction?

Dans ce cadre, les éléments suivants sont principalement vérifiés:

  • informations personnelles
  • CV
  • niveau d’études le plus élevé
  • qualifications professionnelles et historique professionnel

Ces vérifications ne sont effectuées qu’après autorisation de la personne concernée. Cette dernière a aussi à tout moment le droit de demander de cesser les vérifications.

Pour en savoir plus à ce sujet, nous renvoyons à notre white paper “Employent Integrity Screening”, que vous pouvez télécharger sur notre site Web.

Comment le rapport se présente-t-il?

Nous utilisons un rapport normalisé, sous la forme d’une matrice des risques. Notre rapport contient uniquement les informations pertinentes dans le cadre du screening. Il s’agit d’un rapport factuel des informations collectées, catégorisées sur la base de critères objectifs et clairs.

Le rapport peut être rédigé en néerlandais, en français ou en anglais.

Comment un candidat peut-il poser une question?

Si le candidat souhaite poser une question au sujet de son screening avant emploi, il peut toujours nous contacter. L’équipe d’Integrity Check est joignable par téléphone au 053 77 74 44 ou par mail à l’adresse info@integritycheck.be

Garanties et respect de la vie privée

Un screening avant emploi est-il permis?

Integrity Check utilise en première lieu les informations fournies par le candidat lui-même. Nous utilisons également des sources publiques, c’est-à-dire des informations sur le candidat qui sont accessibles publiquement. En ce qui concerne les autres sources, nous demandons au préalable la permission du candidat et aucune autre personne que celles citées par le candidat ne sera consultée. Le processus entier est donc transparent et respecte la vie privée du candidat.

Le candidat est-il toujours au courant du screening?

Oui. Nous n’entamons le screening qu’après avoir obtenu l’accord du candidat, au moyen d’une déclaration de consentement. Cette déclaration précise clairement les vérifications qui seront effectuées. Le cas échéant, nous demandons aussi au candidat de nous autoriser à collecter des informations auprès de ses employeurs précédents, des établissements où il a fait ses études et d’autres personnes de références qu’il a citées.

Quand dois-je informer le candidat?

Si un screening est réalisé uniquement au moyen d’une recherche dans des sources publiques, il n’est pas nécessaire d’informer le candidat de celle-ci. Toutefois, comme nous pouvons consulter des références également dans certains de nos modules, il est nécessaire d’en informer le candidat au préalable. En outre, le candidat est invité à fournir les coordonnées de personnes de référence. Néanmoins, nous estimons qu’il est important de n’effectuer le screening qu’après avoir reçu le consentement éclairé du candidat à cet effet. Pour ce faire, nous prévoyons un document d’autorisation, mais nous vous demandons aussi d’annoncer le screening au préalable. L’annonce du screening dans l’offre d’emploi possède un effet préventif.

Qu’advient-il des données du candidat?

Nous pouvons vous garantir qu’Integrity Check prend au sérieux le traitement correct des informations fournies par le candidat et s’assure que la loi relative à la protection de la vie privée à l’égard des traitements de données à caractère personnel du 8 décembre 1992, la directive européenne 95/46/CE et/ou la législation internationale applicable en matière de protection des données sont respectées.

La plate-forme en ligne d’Integrity Check est enregistrée auprès de la Commission vie privée.

Avez-vous une obligation de secret?

Integrity Check est tenu au respect strict du secret en ce qui concerne toutes les informations confidentielles que nous traitons lors d’un screening.

Toutes les informations fournies (nom, adresse, date de naissance, historique professionnel…) sont utilisées uniquement dans le cadre du screening avant emploi. Ces informations sont conservées pendant six mois, conformément à la loi sur la protection de la vie privée. Ensuite, toutes les données sont supprimées.

La personne concernée a-t-elle le droit de consulter et de corriger ses données?

Toutes les informations sont enregistrées en ligne par la personne concernée sur une plate-forme, à l’aide d’un lien personnel. Tant que les données complétées et chargées ne sont pas enregistrées, la personne concernée peut les compléter et les modifier à l’aide de son lien personnel.

Après l’enregistrement des données, la personne concernée a le droit de consulter les informations enregistrées qui la concernent et peut demander de corriger, compléter ou effacer les données erronées, incomplètes ou non pertinentes.